Wednesday Wellness: Laughter is Medicine

Laughter is Medicine 😂 

Laughter is good for your health. Laughter relaxes the whole body, leaving your muscles relaxed for up to 45 minutes. Laughter reduces stress hormones and brings balance to the immune system. Laughter is a workout – researchers estimate that laughing 100 times is equivalent to 10 minutes on the rowing machine or 15 minutes on an exercise bike. Blood pressure is lowered, there is an increase in vascular blood flow and in oxygenation of the blood. Laughter also gives your diaphragm, abdominal, respiratory, facial, leg and back muscles a workout. That’s why you often feel exhausted after a long bout of laughter! Laughter also allows cathartic release of negative emotions….don’t you find that it’s hard to stay mad at someone after they make you laugh?!?

In this short video, I didn’t realize that my daughter was recording me. I’m a rainbow junkie and just had to stop on the side of this country road to marvel at this beautiful rainbow. My daughter thinks I’m crazy but loves me for it. We laugh together every day. Make sure to get your daily dose of laughter….it’s sweet medicine 🌈

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Wellness: Laughter is Medicine

Leave a comment